2014 FALL NEWSLETTER

Greetings

What an exciting time to take the reigns as we celebrate the Guild's 40th Anniversary on the HBU campus! A 40-year anniversary is traditionally symbolized by the ruby. The ruby gemstone represents nobility,

is a stone that all those who are in service to others should have upon them, because it helps you

feel more like giving to others and doing so with love and joy in your heart. This represents the ladies of The Guild. They are all gems, just like the ruby.

As Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ tells us in 1 Peter 4:10, "As each one has received a special gift, employ it in serving one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God."

A special thanks to our board and committees for their dedication. We have worked tirelessly over the

hope you all will attend and bring a guest.

We can create an opportunity to expand our mission

for the next two years.

To God be the Glory,

Jan Witham

40th ∏nniversary Calendar of events

| Wednesday, October 15, 2014 |
|--|
| GUILD INSTITUTE IN CHRISTIAN FAMILY |
| STUDIES |

| 2014-2015 | Officers and Comm | ittee Chairs |
|-----------|-------------------|--------------|
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |

Scholarships

The Guild Scholarship Committee 2014, chaired by Kandy Brittain, met in May to interview candidates presented by the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences and the School of Christian Thought. During this time interviews were conducted, and the committee unanimously voted to award the following scholarships:

The Sharon Saunders Scholarship - Shelby Hooper The E.D. Hodo Scholarship - Joshua Vance The Sue Sloan Scholarship - Alex Solorio The Guild Presidents Scholarship - Alyssa Grady The Robert Sloan Scholarship - Andrew Johnson

Andrew Adler Dertrick Arnold Nicholas Cole Angela Miller Samantha Bottoms Donava Coleman Lance Aubert Teshana McDowell **Kesley Lewis** Stephen Farrell Joshua Smith Suzanne Bryant Jaime Thomas Nicole Hancock Angela Harris Dez Monique Johnson Nathan Cook

Sharon Saunders met with teachers from Fort Bend Christian Academy who are recipients of the Sharon Saunders Endowed Scholarship awarded by The Guild. Shelby Hooper was recently named a recipient of the scholarship and will be pursuing the Master of Education. John Williams received the Master of Education in 2006, and Mike Skinner received the Master of Arts in Theology Studies in May 2014.

awards to new and continuing recipients and 33 endowed scholarships. Ninety-six graduates have completed the Master of Education degree through this scholarship program.

As of May 2014, The Guild has contributed \$1,607,786 to HBU for scholarships, special projects and The Guild

SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

(Back row, l-r) Janice Good, Sharon Saunders, Jan Witham, Pam Lucas, Anne Roper; (seated) Kandy Brittain, Lynn Kiesewetter, and Debra Perich



Please consider recycling this newsletter - recycling paper, cans, glass and plastic is taking care of our God's green earth.



New Members

Membership Committee Chairs Lynn Tyger and Maetha Smith welcomed new Guild members and their sponsors to the New Member Orientation held September 4th in the Green Room of the Morris Cultural Arts Center. Following the opening prayer by Mon'Sher Spencer, Guild President Jan Witham spoke of upcoming Guild events and opportunities for involvement, Sue Sloan was introduced and welcomed everyone to campus, and Sharon Saunders gave an update on the University.

Rhonda Ekholm, Melanie Everson, Lisa Hartman, Melissa Juneau, Doris Looper, Penny Loyd, Sandra Parker, Cookie Peeler, Sandra Reinhold, Shana Richardson, Bobbi Robinson, Emily Speller and Elizabeth Stevenson.

New members Shana Richardson, Sandra Reinhold, Pat Bertotti, Rhonda Ekholm & Cookie Peeler

Registration - 11:00 a